Barnett Reservoir Board passes lake user fee

RIDGELAND — Beginning Oct. 1 2015, boaters on Ross Barnett
Reservoir will be required to pay a lake user fee under a plan passed
Thursday by the Pearl River Valley Water Supply District Board of
Directors.

According to Board President Jack Winstead, all funds raised from the
user fee will be directed to a special revenue fund and be used only for
recreational enhancements on the aging lake.

“Ross Barnett Reservoir is celebrating its 50th anniversary, and while we
celebrate this milestone we must also realize that a lot of infrastructure is
aging and in need of renovation or repair,” Winstead said. “To this point, our
leaseholders have shouldered all the financial burden, but under this plan all
lake users will contribute to maintaining and improving our facilities.”

It is estimated that about 30,000 boats are registered within the five
counties that surround Barnett Reservoir — Hinds, Leake, Madison, Rankin,
and Scott counties. PRVWSD officials estimate that the lake user fee could
generate about $250,000 to $300,000 annually.

These funds would be used to update boat ramps, increase or replace
navigational aids and improve shore support facilities. When possible, they
can be matched with federal funding arranged through cooperation with the
Mississippi Department of Wildlife, Fisheries and Parks.

“Two good examples of what $250,000 can do are the recently
completed projects at Fannin Landing with a breakwater and new comfort

station, and the renovation at Goshen Springs Landing on Mississippi



Highway 43,” said John Sigman, PRVWSD general manger. “These were
both $1 million projects that required a 25 percent match on our end.”

Winstead and Sigman both said stake holders and user groups would be
involved in all aspects of the planning of projects, and added that reservoir
officials have discussed the lake user fee with several such groups and have
found nearly universal support.

According to PRVWSD officials, boaters paying the lake user fee will
be issued a decal to be placed on the bow of the watercraft near the required
State registration number and decal. Registrants will have the option of
purchasing an annual permit or a three-year permit. A shorter-term 10-day
permit will also be available for visitors.

The fees rates are:

* Boats under 26 feet — $35 annual, $90 for three years.

* Boats 26 feet and above — $50 annual, $135 for three years.

* 10-day, any size, consecutive days — $10.

Decals will be good from Oct. 1 to Sept. 30.

The only vessels excluded from the user fees are paddleboards, sail
boards, kayaks, canoes and approved towable devices, plus boats operated
by law enforcement, fire/rescue, Mississippi Department of Wildlife,
Fisheries and Parks and PRVWSD workboats.

Sigman said that registration would be available 24 hours a day, 365
days a year.

“That way, anybody anywhere who decides, even on the spur of the
moment, that they want to fish or boat on Barnett Reservoir will have the
opportunity to go online and pay, and our officers on the water will have

access to the system to check and say, “Yes, you are good to go,”” Sigman

said. “They then would receive their decals by mail.”



The Board’s action on Thursday begins a 30-day comment period. To
find the proposed rule, visit therez.ms.

Comments may be sent to comments@therez.ms.



